First Step……how?

photo credit

“That’s one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind” by Neil Armstrong, the first man stepping on the soil of moon. What did Armstrong think? Did he think the missing on landing on moon would success before he left the earth? What percentage of success did he think in that mission? Today we are not going to talk about the history, but how we motivate ourselves to have the first step in everything.

There are many “first step” we need to do in our life since we can’t live life without doing anything. I’d say that EVERYTHING is all about the first step. The basic of the first step is: we learned how to walk when we were babies, we learned how to ride bicycle, we went to our first day of school, we started to look for job, and we had our first meeting with our boss etc. This list will go on and on and you will find hard to end this list.

In the other hand, when we start to make the decision on our own, the move of “first step” starts to become important. When we want to start to write a blog, buy stocks, go adventure, study/ work hard, and do charity works etc., we all need the good motivation to do the action. I believe how we value ourselves is really important for the following actions. I know the most of time we are lazy, scary, and negative about starting a new move. If we never get to the first step, how can we appreciate the joy afterward? Here are four tips to get motivation for giving the first step:

  1. Clean your mind and eliminate negative thoughts
  2. Be curious on most of things, which will gain your desire of doing new things
  3. Focus on the goal you make, and think the benefit after you start to proceed
  4. Always have “give a try” attitude, and you will be surprise after you’ve don it
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yathi Yatheepan
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 11:15:47

    Nice post Jenny. I remember my struggle to learn bicycling. I still remember my first days at schools and college and almost every big steps after that. I wish I can remember my first step in walking. But I had the joy of watching a few my friend’s little brother’s or sister’s first step in walking.

    Reply

  2. Jenny Tsai
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 17:38:06

    Thank you Yathi 🙂 Good memories always brought us happiness.

    Reply

  3. Chris Barba
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 10:47:05

    Hi Jenny,

    This is so relevant! Great content and I love how you include tips and applications in your posts.

    It all comes down to that first step. We can take action or be stuck at the starting line in a daze of complacency. For me, I find the latter occurring far too often!

    I try and shrink the change. If I need to clean my apartment I’ll set a cooking timer for 5 minutes and do as much as I can till it goes off. When I need to write a blog I’ll map out my topic and the directions I want to take the content. And when I needed to start job searching I’d set mini goals each day – apply to 3 companies, research topic x, redo part y on my resume.

    By breaking down those massive and seemingly unachievable outcomes they all the sudden become all the more obtainable!

    Great piece.

    Cheers!

    Reply

  4. Jenny Tsai
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 11:04:38

    Thank you for your comment, Chris. 🙂 It is good suggestion that we can give ourselves some goals to achieve, so we will have motivation to do those action.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

