Smart Phones Distance Us from People around Us…..Watch Out!

photo credit

iPhone, Blackberry, and HTC etc. are smart phones that lots of people use nowadays. Those smart phones make our life more convenience and we can save tons of times if we have one of those phones. We can pay our checks, play video games, watch movies, chat with friends, and google whatever we want etc., which smart phones are the small version of the computer. It is a good revolution that we now can do lots of things from a phone. But have you ever thought about there is a negative side of this good revolution?

Smart phones distance us from people around us!

Before the innovation of smart phones, people use to talk with others more. Since we didn’t have the smart phone to make us busy, we try to make the connection with others around us. We had more interested in others and tried to come up with the good topic to keep our conversation going. We didn’t want to feel bored and leave behind, so we tried hard to build our relationship with people around us. But everything started to change when smart phones got popular.

Do you notice that people now playing or checking their smart phones more often?

For example, we often see people check or play their smart phones when they have dinner with friends or family. They don’t talk to each other that much since they can choose to hang out with their phones. They are not concentrating on the dinner or any events any more. Do you feel you are less aggressive to build good relationship with others since you know you can rely on your smart phone?

I do agree that smart phones are good revolution and innovation, but we still need to care people around us. Smart phones should make us closer, not further. Let’s make our smart phone more valuable and keep up the relationship with real people around us:

  1. Concentrate on your position at that point and leave your smart phone away
  2. Use smart phone to share information with others, but don’t give 100% attention on that
  3. Understand that you won’t miss anything important when you don’t check or play with your smart phone for a while
  4. The rule is….make good connection with people when you hang out with them, and enjoy playing with your smart phone when you are alone

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jaana Eubanks
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 18:23:45

    Jenny!

    I was smiling when I read this since we just had a conversation with a friend of mine who has been telling me to get a smart phone forever now, saying “It’s the greatest, why do you still have that Nokia from the ice-age”.. I simply do not want to be THAT connected. My old phone is still a phone; lets me make calls and send text messages, and that’s just plenty for me. I would be afraid of exactly what you wrote about.

    Jaana Eubanks

    Reply

    • Jenny Tsai
      Apr 15, 2011 @ 22:13:35

      Jaana,
      Thank you for your comment. I think I became one of those people who check/ play cell phone since I got my htc. I am trying not to be that addicted on my cell phone. But once we start this bad habit, it is hard to quit it. I agree with you that cell phone is for calling and texting, which we don’t really need THAT much connection with people.

      Reply

  2. Yathi Yatheepan
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 22:26:17

    In my case, the smart phone distant me from my computer. Nowadays, I don’t turn on the computer or come and sit in front of the computer every hour on the weekends. In that way, smart phones made my life more efficient.

    Interesting post Jenny. But I am disappointed that you didn’t mention about Samsung 🙂

    Reply

    • Jenny Tsai
      Apr 17, 2011 @ 11:56:02

      Yathi, thank you for your comment. It is true that our smart phone can replace the computer in some way. But I hope you will not be distance with your friends and family when you hang out with them.
      🙂 Samsung is good smart phone, too.

      Reply

  3. Amber Little
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 18:46:46

    Jenny, this is so true! I find myself paying too much attention to my smart phone instead of paying attention to people, and it’s horrible! Thanks for the tips.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

